Saint Mark Daily Advent Devotional – December 16, 2014

by Sally Foster

Scripture: Matthew 24:32-44

This scripture in the gospel of Matthew tells about Jesus’ return, and tells us to remain watchful. “No one knows about that day or hour… therefore keep watch… But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

This is one of the most powerful passages in the Bible because it talks about preparedness. I have always tried to be prepared in my life for just about anything. In my retirement, I have more time to think about “being” prepared as opposed to “doing” prepared as I did in my work life. The Lord tells us we must be prepared for his return. I often wonder how prepared I am – is my spiritual suitcase ready to go at a moment’s notice like when I traveled for work. Have I been storing up treasures on Earth that will be useless in Heaven? Have I been working toward the advancement of His kingdom here on Earth or working for my own advancement? If He were to grade me on how well I have done in furthering his kingdom, would I get a passing grade? What am I doing to “Be” prepared? These are important questions that all of us need to answer for we will not know the day or hour of his return. Even if we did, would we sit back, be lazy, continue sinning and then ask for forgiveness at the very end? How prepared are you for the Lord’s return?

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help us to be prepared for your return. Give us the knowledge to know how to prepare and the wisdom to do the work here on Earth that is important to the advancement of your kingdom so we are ready for that day and hour when we will see you again. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

