Saint Mark Daily Advent Devotional – December 17, 2014

by Cathy Alvarez

Scripture: Matthew 24: 45 – 51

As a child, I witnessed the faithfulness of my grandpa and my dad.  While my parents saved and waited for their home, we lived with my grandparents, and my grandpa taught us how to celebrate the Sabbath.  Before church, he would gather us in the parlor by the piano and, with voice, praise, and prayer, we would thank God for His blessings.

Later, at our own home, each Sunday I noticed how my dad would open his wallet, take out the money he had set aside for church, put the money in his offering envelope, and tuck the envelope in his breast pocket. Then we walked to church to celebrate the Sabbath.

My parents had high school educations and modest incomes to pay for the raising of three children, a mortgage, food, utilities, clothes, church, and few dollars for savings.  There were no vacations, cars, televisions or big parties.  But I remember when my dear friend became pregnant and needed financial help, dad dug deep and provided food and rent money for her.

Because of my dad’s faithfulness and witness, God continued to support and sustain our family.  All of our needs were consistently met, and my parents showed compassion to our friends and neighbors.

Today’s scripture recalls the teaching of Jesus and the preparation for the unknown time of God’s return. It compares the actions of the faithful and unfaithful servants.  “Who then is the faithful and wise servant whom the master has put in charge of the servants in his household to give them their food at the proper time?” The parable reminds us to be faithful to God and our responsibilities to others.

I am forever grateful to my grandpa and dad for their faithfulness to God and our family.

Prayer: “Great is thy faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see.” Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

