Saint Mark Daily Advent Devotional – December 21, 2014

by Steve Fazenbaker

Scripture: Luke 1:26-38, 46-55

In the book of Romans, Paul wrote that “we do not know how to pray as we ought.”  Paul was right!  Too often our prayers are governed by our moods and our energy levels.  Furthermore, there are many people and situations that would benefit from our prayers, except that we are unaware of their need for our prayers.  When we don’t necessarily feel like praying or if we are unsure of what to pray, it is helpful to turn to prayer books.  We can often find a prayer that expresses what we are feeling, and pray the words given to us.  Of course, the best prayers can be found in the Holy Scriptures.  The book of Psalms alone contains 150 prayers – a prayer for any occasion, any mood, any situation.

But if we think of prayer as a conversation with God, or a conversation with Christ, then pretty much any conversation in the Bible can serve as a prayer.  In my personal prayer life, I have discovered that Mary’s words to Gabriel in Luke 1:38 is one of the most powerful, meaningful, and life-changing prayers in the Bible:  “Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.”  Praying this prayer throughout the day helps me to find my place in whatever situation I find myself, and it helps me find the wisdom and courage to do what God would have me do, in whatever situation I find myself.

Prayer:  Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.  Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

