Saint Mark Daily Advent Devotional – December 26, 2014

by Giselle Lawn

Scripture:  Psalm 19

Psalm 19 reveals to us the God of Creation.  Through creation we see God as the mighty one, the God of knowledge and power, the God whose magnificent works are not just omnipresent around us but daily, directly, impacting our very lives.  I see the beauty and majesty of Creation in the abundant diversification of life from the tiniest of insects on earth to the coral we find in the shallows of our oceans.  Regardless of where I travel on the earth, I experience the power and majesty of Creation in the very gravity that holds me firmly and securely but also through our sun from which I experience light, warmth, and the order of creation and time.

This psalm also reveals to us God as the Word.  In the Word, we see the God of love and grace who we experience in the conviction of our heart, and in the hope we experience in our soul of eternal relationship with God.  In the Word I am also reminded that God’s commands give light to my eyes; the statutes of the Lord provide trustworthy direction and order to my life; and the law of the Word endures forever and refreshes my soul.  As the passage closes, we see the assurance of our relationship with God in the form of prayer petitioning God to keep me from willful sin and asking forgiveness for those times when I do not even realize I am missing the mark.

This scripture passage comes to a close praising God as Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Prayer: God of Creation and Word, I pray I will daily surrender to you as Lord in my life; that as I face choices and challenges each day,  I will remember you are my Rock, and I pray that in my life others will see you, my Redeemer. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

