Saint Mark Daily Advent Devotional – January 1, 2015

by Susan Wilson

Scripture: Numbers 6:22-27

Happy New Year! Today is the day we focus on setting our goals and resolutions for the new year. How many times have we done this? In my case, many times.

I set resolutions and goals with the intent of achieving each of them. I write them down and fully commit myself to reaching each new goal. About two weeks later, I realize that I’ve done not much of anything to accomplish my resolutions.

Today’s lesson from Numbers is the well known blessing: “The Lord bless you and keep you; The Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.” As a Director of Fine Arts, I have directed many choirs in singing this familiar text. I generally remember most the first phrase but while writing this devotion the part that struck me was “the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace”. Peace, peace, wonderful peace. Don’t we all need peace on some level?  I, for one, long for peace.  How does that come?

For me it comes through hugs of support and love. It comes from giving back. It comes from time spent alone with God. I think God offers us peace but we are too busy worrying or scurrying about to even receive it. Slow down and accept it. God gives it. Once you have received peace, then you can become a vessel from which others can receive it. It sounds simple but carving out that time with God and actually opening our hearts and minds for peace can be tough. Instead of making a long list of resolutions this year, I think I’ll try to find inner peace from the one who created me to live in his presence. How about you?

Prayer: God, help me to know and accept your peace, that I might also pass it on to others. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

