Links of the Week – February 20, 2015

* Chances Of People Believing An Outrageous Statement

* Shep Smith’s Advice For FBN’s Kennedy: ‘Wear Less Clothes” – (Prick.)

* Fashion It So: TNG’s ‘Night Terrors’

* What I Always Find Myself Thinking In Meetings – (Every. Time.)

* The Braves Apologized To Fans With A Valentine’s Card In 1976 – (Your 2016 card will be in the mail.)

* Mars One: ‘We’re All Going To Die, But It’s Important What We Do Before We Die’

* 22 Signs You’ve Been In Your Job Too Long – (I got 11. It would’ve been more if I hadn’t had to get sober a few years ago.)

* PostSecret: Scars

* School Is About More Than Training Kids To Be Adults

* The Case For A Gender Studies Requirement – (Great idea!)

* Buttered Pecan Biscuits

* Apple Cinnamon Baked Doughnuts with Brown Butter Glaze

* whatshouldwecallme: Valentine’s Day

* New Study Finds Therapy, Antidepressants Equally Effective At Monetizing Depression

* Rockdale Citizen: World’s Shortest Endurance Race Slated For St. Patrick’s Day

* When Churches Want A Pastor Who Can “Bring In Young Families”…

* Oatmeal Cream Pie Gooey Bars – (Oh my!)

* Food For The Thoughtless: I Don’t Know Your Life – (Blog post of the week!)

* “Irrational” Actors Worshiping The End Of Days: ISIS, George W. Bush, And The Christian Right

* birdsrightsactivist: Best In Show

* Why ISIS Causes Me To Struggle With The Gospel

* Teenage Girl Blossoming Into Beautiful Object

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“The process by which men and women fell in love and coupled off had always been about as clear to me as quadratic equations or Masonic rites. I’d grown up without being exposed to many actual men besides teachers, who didn’t really count. I had cobbled together a composite picture for myself out of the limited source material at hand. My mother had naturally weighed in heavily with the opinion that the male sex was a lower order without common sense or the capacity to behave responsibly, but Gothic novels and fairy tales had inculcated in me the equally strong but contrary expectation that either a prince of some kind would carry me off to his castle or Mr. Rochester would eventually marry me if I waited for him to go blind. By the time I was eight years old, I’d absorbed the idea that courtship and marriage happened when the perfect man came along and chose you from the lineup. All you could do as the girl was stand there and wait.”

     – In The Drink, Kate Christensen

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

