Leonard Nimoy Passes. I Am Bereft

For many years, Star Trek was the place I could hide – the place where I could curl up and lose myself in its beautiful, colorful, other world. A world that wasn’t this confusing and difficult and hurtful one I live in. Trek spackled over my cracked heart many, many times.

Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scotty, Uhura, Chekov, Sulu, Kevin Riley, Rand, Nurse Chapel, Amanda and Sarek, T’Pring and Harry Mudd were my friends who kept me safe and made me smile.

As I’ve gotten even older and life keeps getting harder, I find it more difficult to find my escape there. But I am so grateful for what it has meant to me over the years.

None of that peace would have been possible without the singular Spock, Leonard Nimoy. His body died today. And that Star Trek world feels a little less safe. But I thank God for Mr. Nimoy. He touched my life.

So I will go home tonight and curl up on the couch under my blanket and lose myself the best I can in “Amok Time,” “Devil in the Dark” and “All Our Yesterdays.” I will pine for that other world. And I will take comfort in the fact that Spock goes on forever. Thank you, Mr. Nimoy.

Spock_and_Horta_mind_meld

Tags: ,

One response to “Leonard Nimoy Passes. I Am Bereft”

  1. Neville Ross says :

    Tonight, I’ll be watching the 2009 and 2013 movies back-to-back instead of going to see Kingsman: The Secret Service. I’m also just surfing the ‘Net and reading all of the testimonials as well-I share your sadness at what’s happened.

    http://www.cbc.ca/i/caffeine/syndicate/?clipId=2656257095

Leave a Reply

