Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 6, 2015

by Greg Brown

ScriptureMark 4:35-41

This scripture is about Jesus calming the storm at sea.  It is probably more about recognizing the mystery of God’s presence in our lives when things seem so out of control for us.

 Over the last couple of years, my dear 87 year old mother has begun to develop short term memory loss.  If I think about her future too much, it scares the daylights out of me.  Working in the hospice field, almost daily I see the toll that dementia takes on loved ones and on all who surround them.

 Right now, my mother is able to live independently.  One of my brothers, who lives just a mile or so away, checks on her daily.  She still drives (during the daytime only) and won’t go out if there is even a hint of snow.  My other brother and I are developing a schedule to visit and be with her every month or so.  We call her daily. She seems to really take great comfort when one of her sons is with her.   I don’t know when the time will come when I’ll be too tired and drained from “struggling to bail the swamped boat out,” but I trust the Lord will be there.

 It’s going to be a journey for me.  But, knowing that my earthly two brothers are sharing the journey, with God providing an umbrella over us, it will be ok.

Prayer:  Lord, be with us as we approach this glorious Easter season of hope. Let that hope rest with each of us in ways we need and in ways you know we need to manage our struggles. In thy holy name, amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

