Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 7, 2015

by Robert Fortenbery

ScriptureGenesis 43:16-34

This scripture gives Joseph a chance to forgive and to regain the trust of his brothers and family. He asked his brothers about their father to see if he was living and also to find out about Benjamin. Then he left to find a place to weep for joy. Later he served them a feast. Joseph was not ready to reveal himself yet, so he ate alone.

During this time of Lent, it’s the time of preparation for me to acknowledge what God did for the world including me. This past year and a half, I have had many trials including the loss of my friend of 42 years and partner of 27+ years. This year, Lent is the preparation of a new beginning and a new walk for me with God. He has given me the greatest gift in his Son, Jesus Christ, and sends his Holy Spirit to help me find peace and comfort during this time.

I am fortunate to have so many close friends, St. Mark and family members who are standing by and supporting me through this loss. God has led me back to St. Mark because of the genuine joy, love, and spirit of this family. They have prayed for me and helped me during this time of hardship. I have decided to give God extra time in meditation and prayer. I don’t feel that I’m giving up time on the computer or TV, but rather gaining time to spend with God. I know that I’ll be better off during this season as the time I spend will help heal my spirit, soul, mind, and strength. This is my season for renewal and healing.

Prayer:  Lord, let my time I spend with you help me heal and renew my faith. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

