Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 13, 2015

by Amanda Lockhart

ScriptureMark 6:47-56

When someone does the impossible or seems to be perfect, I will often say that they “walk on water.” I rarely use or think about it in a religious context even though it comes from today’s scripture. 

In this reading, the disciples were doing what Jesus had told them to do – taking a boat to the other side of the lake. These experienced fishermen struggled to complete this seemingly simple task as we are told they were “straining at the oars, because the wind was against them.” There was no mention of a storm, just this great wind which was an obstacle to them. Even with all of their experience, they were struggling to overcome it. Jesus came out onto the water, walking toward them. He got into the boat with them and “the wind died down.” At this point everything was calm and the traveling across the lake continued.

It is here we learn one of our most valuable lessons: There are times when it does not matter how much training, knowledge, or preparedness we have, we will come up against obstacles in which we will “strain against the oars.” When this happens, we need to check to see who is in our boat. Do we trust God to help us through these tough times? Because it is only with him that the winds will die down and we will be able to overcome the obstacles that we face.

PrayerLord, thank you for being a calming presence when life seems to be spiraling out of control. Thank you for knowing my thoughts and concerns even before I speak them, and for being willing to listen as I struggle to put my worries into words. I will continue to put my faith, my trust and my hope in you, and I know you will never abandon me. I am grateful for your faithfulness. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

