Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 14, 2015

by Jill Lee-Barber

ScripturePsalm 143

Mature spirituality seems to require having a good memory about who God is and how God relates to humanity.  It also seems to require a willingness to engage with God in our times of need and to ask for God’s powerful help, even and especially when, in the words of the psalmist, we have a “weak spirit and a mind that is numb.”  

I don’t know about you, but at times my life circumstances do leave me with a weak spirit and a mind that feels numb.   I am grateful to have had saints in my life who taught me and showed me that God is good and everlasting, and who encouraged me to seek God, as the psalmist did, as a refuge. 

To take it another step, this passage reminds me that I need to grow in my willingness to go beyond being sheltered and defended by a good God. I need to move from that sheltered and defended respite to actively asking God each day the following words, used as a prayer from this Psalm:

Prayer: “Show me the way I should go, because I offer my life up to You.” Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

