Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 15, 2015

by Josh Noblitt

ScriptureEphesians 2:1-10
“It’s God’s gift from start to finish…We neither make, nor save ourselves. God does both the making and the saving.” (MSG)

I always used to think that Lent was a time that I needed to be somewhat somber and reflect on all of the ways that I needed to “do better” in my spiritual walk as well as in other areas of my life.  I would take on some unrealistic hardship for Lent, only to see myself not be able to stick to my commitment and then feel like I had done something wrong.  For a while there, it served to remind me more of the distance I felt from God as opposed to enriching my relationship with God in every aspect of my life. 

Somewhere along the way, I realized that the goal was to feel closer to God and to seek out new ways to have life more abundantly.  The scripture passage today reminds us that God is the one who created us and who saves us.  Salvation is a free gift from God.  We don’t have to do, say or be anything in order for God to surround us with love, sustenance and redemption.  Being reminded of this helps me shift my focus from all of the ways I have fallen short and have done wrong, to focusing more on the infinite ways that God loves me and loves us all.  I’ve discovered that when I pay attention to that love and really feel it, I find myself naturally “doing better” and showing more love to everyone I come in contact with.  Abundant life is a life overflowing with love of God, self and neighbor.

This Lenten season, may we all look for new ways to recognize God’s love in our lives so that we may experience it to the fullest and share it with those around us. 

Prayer: Holy One, Thank you for the infinite love you have for us all.  Help us to focus on your love today and everyday, so that we can share that same love with everyone we meet.  Amen

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

