Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 16, 2015

by Sylvia Goggin

ScriptureMark 7: 24-37

This passage in the gospel is eye-opening to me.  It lets me see that Jesus, in his state as a man, may have grown weary of His work.  That is not to say that he wasn’t busy with the Father’s business, but that on this occasion, He just needed a break.

When the passage begins, He had just been to Gennesaret and healed many in the region. Then his interactions with the people were questioned by the Pharisees, he preached to the multitudes, and He tried to give understanding of His parables to the disciples.

When Jesus got to a home on the border of Tyre and Sidon, He didn’t want anyone to know He was there. I believe all Jesus wanted to do was to be out in the country in the company of His Jewish friends and just “chill out.”  But Jesus was seen. The woman with the afflicted daughter asked for healing and so did the friends of the deaf mute, and Jesus, being our loving Savior, healed them all.

As a special education teacher, I know all about wanting to take a break from work and thinking. I even know about longing to heal without the ability and only faith to sustain me. This passage has meaning to me because I deal with the same disabilities that the people who Jesus healed were dealing with.  I see the anguish of mothers who can’t get through to their children and I see children who can’t be understood and become more frustrated with each effort.  And some days, when things aren’t going well, I want to sit down with a friend and not even think about work; I want to hide out. But that isn’t the way life happens. So each morning I pray that God will get me through another day and that, in my own way, I may be able to add meaning to the lives of those I touch.

And, just as those who saw Jesus’ acts of healing and said, “He hath done all things well,” I hope that one day Our Father may be able to say the same of my small efforts as a teacher.

Prayer: God, grant us strength to do your work and to help those around us.  Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

