Saint Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – March 24, 2015

by Robert Givens

ScriptureExodus 5:1-6:1

Most mornings when I read the Bible, if there is a scene or story being told, I like to imagine myself in it and reflect upon it. Which character can I identify with or learn from? Which one is speaking to me? What events in my life parallel those in the text? In the 5th chapter of Exodus, we have a rich story, full of characters and action. It’s told quite vividly and is easy to re-imagine in our mind’s eye. 

So who am I in this chapter of Exodus? Am I Moses following God’s commandments and then questioning him after the fact? Is my faith in God weak? Maybe I am the Pharaoh! Am I guilty of judging, resenting and punishing people who ask favors of me? Or am I a slave-driver pushing the Israelites? Do I push anyone around in my life? Maybe I have in the past and there is an amends to make. Or am I one of the faceless slaves trapped with seemingly no hope in sight?  What is enslaving me? What are the chains that bind me, that keep me from falling short of my full potential? I can be all or anyone of these people on any given day. 

For me, Lent is a period of time to be introspective, digging deep, leaving no stone unturned. I want to identify the things that are blocking me from the sunlight of the spirit, that are preventing me from being of the best possible service to him and my fellow man. Once these sins or defects are identified, I try to let go of them and turn them over to God asking that he remove them from me.

It’s also important for me to look at what I’m doing right, not just focusing on defects. I want to identify the areas in my life where God is working and I am growing and being an active member of the body of Christ so that I might ask for continued nourishment of these gifts.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I ask that your scripture might reveal in me the things that limit my ability to live a life of love and discipleship in Jesus Christ. I ask that you would show me how to let go of those things and turn them over to you. And I praise you for all the gifts you’ve given me, asking that you might give me opportunities to use them in your service, in the service of Love. Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

