St. Mark Daily Lenten Devotional – April 1, 2015

by Susan Wilson

Scripture: “Yet I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; O Lord, do not delay”. Psalm 70

When I found this Psalm in my NIV Women’s Devotional Bible I couldn’t help but notice underneath the Psalm title these words:
For the director of music. Of David. A petition“.  Could God be speaking to me in this psalm today perhaps?

On days when I feel stressed why is it that I forget to call on God to come help me?  What about when life seems unmanageable?  Instead of trying to carry the load alone, why don’t I call on God to lend me support?

It’s very simple really. God is present and here. If I silence my voice and still my body and open my heart, he will be known.  As simple as it sounds, it’s hard to do those things.

We all get caught up in the duties of the day and fail to slow down long enough to listen to God’s voice. Have you carved out time during this Lenten season to do just that? Have you found a corner to seek quiet and peace?

I challenge you to continue the practice of seeking God on a daily basis in a quiet space. He is here and all he asks is that we open our hearts and minds and listen. This hymn text, taken from Hymn No. 358, “Dear Lord and Father of Mankind” , speaks to this quietness. It can also be used for centering as you prepare to pray.

Prayer:

Drop thy still dews of quietness, till all our strivings cease; take from our
souls the strain and stress,
And let our ordered lives confess the beauty of thy peace.

Breathe through the heats of our desire thy coolness and thy balm;
let sense be dumb, let flesh retire;
Speak through the earthquake, wind, and fire, O still, small voice of calm.”

 Amen.

Saint Mark United Methodist Church

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

